29 / January / 2020

Deputy FM: Armenia will welcome Azerbaijan’s EAEU accession if it fulfills specified provision

YEREVAN. – Not solely a Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) member country, but also even an observer country shall not take steps that harm the member countries.

Deputy Foreign Minister Shavarsh Kocharyan stated about the aforementioned to reporters, after Thursday’s Cabinet meeting of the government of Armenia. He said this commenting on the chances of Azerbaijan joining the EAEU.

“Azerbaijan’s being in the makeup of the EAEU means maintaining the Eurasian Economic Union agreement provision by which even an [EAEU] observer state, not only a member, should not take any action to the detriment of member states, or the Eurasian Economic Union, in general,” noted Kocharyan. “That implies that if Azerbaijan wishes to come closer to the EAEU in this or that way, it shall not take such steps.”

The Deputy FM stressed that if Azerbaijan maintains the abovementioned condition, Armenia will welcome its accession to the EAEU.

“And that means that Azerbaijan shall lift the blockade [of Armenia],” added Shavarsh Kocharyan. “That means not carrying out inimical actions against Armenia. That means putting an end to Armenophobia.”

The Eurasian Economic Union comprises Armenia, Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan.

Seen 1672 times

Moes wiewed
For week
For Month

Gevorg Avetisyan: It is necessary to transfer the national culture to the younger generation living ...

Armenia-Azerbajian friendship platform is Aliev's regime dark project. Vahan Martirosyan

Armenian and Artsakh FM's hold discussion

Where Do The Richest Americans Live?

China says wants 'calm' resolution to U.S. trade war

5G and SMEs: the keys to digital transformation at ITU Telecom World in Budapest